Massachusetts Law About Minimum Wage
Massachusetts Minimum Wage is $8.00
NOTE: There are many circumstances in which different wages may be paid. See links below for more information.
MGL c.151 Minimum Fair Wages
St.2014, c.144 Minimum Wage increases to:
- $9.00 per hour on January 1, 2015
- $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016
- $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2017
455 CMR 2 Minimum Wage
29 CFR Part 541 Defining and Delimiting the Exemptions for Executive, Administrative, Professional, Outside Sales and Computer Employees. "White Collar'' exemptions from minimum wage laws.
Attorney General's Guide to Workplace Rights and Responsibilities, Mass. Attorney General. Brochure covers "many of the laws regulating the workplace, including minimum wage," with references to Mass. General Laws.
Can tipped employees be paid less than the minimum wage?, Mass. Trial Court Law Libraries.
Massachusetts Minimum Wage Poster, Mass. Attorney General.
Minimum Wage and Overtime FAQs, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development. Answers common questions about minimum wage and overtime.
Minimum Wage Program, Division of Occupational Safety. This agency is responsible for administering the minimum wage program and so the site includes information on obtaining opinion letters and minimum wage waivers.
Massachusetts Wage and Hours Handbook, MCLE, 2008.